|Examination Hall in northern Sichuan |
Located in the middle of Xuedao Street in Langzhong, the Examination Hall in northern Sichuan, which is also called the Examanination House, is a cultural relic under province-level protection. In the 9th year of Emperor Shunzhi’s reigon during the Qing Dynasty (1652), Baoning was made the temporary capital city of Sichuan because Sichuan had not been conquered completely. In the next ten years, four county-level examinations were held there till Chengdu became the capital during Emperor Kangxi’s reign. In the 22nd year of Emperor Jiaqing’s reign (1817), Li Xuejing, the governor of northern Sichuan rebuilt the examination hall and made a record of its history. It is a three-part building of courtyard house including examination rooms, lodging for the examinees, lodging and offices for examiners. There are corridors connecting every examination room with benches for examinees and examiners to have a rest.